Taking a Stab at the Real World

So as a newly, fresh-out-of-college graduate, I have come to a realization that I feel like I should have known before this.  Maybe I did know it but it didn’t quite come to me since it wasn’t reality yet.  Now that I have had a chance to really sit back and think about my current life, I am pleased with what I have come to acknowledge.

Since I was 15 years old, I have had a paying job.  It all started at Lennie’s Flower Shop in New Milford, Connecticut.  I was a “Floral Assistant”.  As a high school student with a paying job I felt pretty awesome about myself.  I could go out and buy myself a coffee at Dunkin Donuts and pay for it myself.  I could go to Kohl’s and buy myself a new shirt and didn’t have to depend on anyone to supply me the money for it.  It felt great.

As I moved from job to job as part of my high school’s agricultural job program as well as the employment program in college, I held many titles from cashier, veterinary technician assistant, farm hand, garden assistant, and even marketing intern.

Ah, there we go: the “I” word.  As an intern at Watson, Inc., a food ingredient company, I thoroughly loved my job.  I learned more about my love for writing and communications and was pushed in a clearer path of what I wanted to do with my career.  This internship was a perfect fit for me.

As much as I have loved multiple positions that I have held and am thankful for every experience I had the opportunity to have, there is something about my job now that is so refreshing.

With my education and professional background that I have established for myself, I’m never going to have to be “the intern” or “the college kid” ever again.  All of what I have learned from my education and past job positions have acted as the perfect platform I needed to successfully reach this point.  I am now hired at Zoetis as a Customer Service Representative and with the company being as big as it is, there are endless opportunities to move around in the company to explore what positions best match my interests and skills.  With this position I can use my college degree straight out of school as well as skills that I have only learned through my past jobs such as people skills, responsibility, punctuality, and professionalism.

I am so happy to be where I am at right now.  Beginning my career directly in my field immediately out of college and being completely independent is definitely exciting, terrifying, and a relief all at the same time but I am looking forward to what is to come.

To all of the recent high school and college graduates out there, good luck in all that you set forth to do!  It won’t necessarily be easy to achieve your goals but it is all worth it in the end. The struggle and hardships we encounter only make us stronger.

 

Leave a Reply

