Portion Control Catastrophe

I decided to stop by Starbucks this morning on my way to work today.  There’s something wonderful about a one hour drive to work with a nice hot cup of coffee in hand to get my head straight for work.  So, I walked into the little coffee shop and ordered a latte.

As the barista was making my drink, he turned to me and politely asked in his sophisticated English accent, “Would you like something to eat with this; perhaps a big, fat bacon breakfast sandwich?”

I politely declined; the sound of a “big fat bacon breakfast sandwich” sounded delicious, of course, but I already had breakfast.  It wasn’t until I was almost to work when I started thinking more about the barista’s offer.  Why did he use “big, fat” to describe the sandwich to me?  What is it about these words that would have appealed to me and made me want to buy the sandwich?

I think we might all know the answer here.  When it comes to food, Americans love anything that sounds like they will be receiving a lot of whatever they are ordering.  If he had just said “bacon breakfast sandwich”, it would have still sounded delicious.  However, adding in “big, fat” might have been just what the majority of the American public would have needed to cave and give in to the barista’s offer.

It is something that is being worked on in this country but when I think about the average portion size of a meal in other countries, it is mind-blowing.  This article is just one example of how Americans compare to different countries with the sizes of drinks at McDonald’s.  I was overjoyed when restaurants began to list the calorie count on their menus and other nutritionals.  Many restaurants also have this information online which I occasionally like to glance at before going there for a meal.

I just wanted to mention this and see what everyone has to say about the portion sizes in America.  What are your thoughts?  Do you think America will be able to have similar portion sizes to other countries?  Do you think the larger portion sizes in America contribute to the obesity problem we have?

Stay healthy and be strong!

Leave a Reply

